Hobbies & Interests

Book Review: A Deviant Style of Writing a Novella

In this almost empty library in my building, I didn’t expect to find a uniquely and unconventionally written novel that I never knew existed. Or at least, I never expected somebody to pull off writing this way.

SUMMARY:

At first glance, I thought it’s just one of those typical narrative of imaginary characters and human experiences that I’m used to reading. 

BOY MEETS GIRL – I mean, the title seems so ordinary. Don’t you think? 


Well, MEG CABOT is the author of The Princess Diaries which is so successful it even made it to the big screen. I loved everything about it and still do. Unfortunately, I couldn’t say the same for this book. Well anyway,  that’s not what interests me to continue reading. 

Now, if that is so, why have I decided to share my thoughts about this book? I think, by now, the title of this blog has already given away my purpose for writing it. 


The first thing I noticed as soon as I began flipping the first few pages of this book is that there’s no chapters indicated. That’s a first. 

And to further elaborate the distinctiveness and ingenuity of this creation, here’s a list of how it was composed:

1. Draft / Notepad


2. To-do list


3. Notice


4. Incident Report 


5. Recorded conversations


6. IMs (Instant Messages) 


7. Receipts


8. Journals


9. Voicemail 


10. Emails


11. A note on a receipt 


12. A note at the door


13. Notes on a Menu


14. Notes on Classified ads 



15. Notes on Event Program 


16. A conversation written on Hand-outs


17. A regular note




18. A note on a card


19. Log Sheet


20. Memos


21. Fax


22. Letters (formal and informal) 





Writing a novel takes patience and creativity.  And with this one, the author made it even extraordinary. 

Kudos! 

Leave a Reply

